Help needed with multi function display

Queries and solutions on minor technical issues
satya007
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 6:41 pm
City: Bhubaneswar
State: Orissa
Car-1: Polo 1.2L TDI HL
Car-2: Polo 1.2L TDI HL

Re: Help needed with multi function display

Unread postby satya007 » Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:32 pm

VR1 wrote:We will will be careful while fiddling with the MFD functions.

I think that might be trip 2 info and can be set again by pressing the reset button.
IMG_1860.JPG
trip 2 on MFD

I too dont understand from where these trip 2 values come, are different from last trip value, the trip 2 values increase if you drive on trip2 mode, while trip 1 also get automatically updated.

User avatar
Kuntal
Senior Member
Posts: 805
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 11:01 am
City: Mumbai
State: Maharashtra
Car-1: Polo 1.2L P TL
Contact:

Re: Help needed with multi function display

Unread postby Kuntal » Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:46 am

In the TL your alleged trip 2 display area is used to show DTE. I have never noticed the numeric 2 in the right hand corner though. Will have to pay more attention.

User avatar
nfspoet
Elite Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 7:11 pm
City: New Delhi
State: Delhi
Car-1: Vento 1.6L P TL

Re: Help needed with multi function display

Unread postby nfspoet » Mon Aug 27, 2012 4:45 pm

So the 2012 TL's have DTE, that's cool.

User avatar
Kuntal
Senior Member
Posts: 805
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 11:01 am
City: Mumbai
State: Maharashtra
Car-1: Polo 1.2L P TL
Contact:

Re: Help needed with multi function display

Unread postby Kuntal » Mon Aug 27, 2012 6:10 pm

Yes they do...In fact, the last time when I did a long trip on highways about 200 kms. The DTE estimation used to go up, which is quite understood. When I started the trip it showed 320kms. When I had covered 100kms it showed 340kms and when I got back home i.e another 100 kms it showed 280kms.

Now after 10 days of driving in city conditions it is dropping at a good pace than it used to be.
Last edited by Kuntal on Mon Aug 27, 2012 6:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

subod012
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:59 pm
City: kolkata
State: west bengal
Car-1: Polo 1.2L P CL

Re: Help needed with multi function display

Unread postby subod012 » Sun Sep 02, 2012 10:39 pm

satya007 wrote:
VR1 wrote:We will will be careful while fiddling with the MFD functions.

I think that might be trip 2 info and can be set again by pressing the reset button.
IMG_1860.JPG

I too dont understand from where these trip 2 values come, are different from last trip value, the trip 2 values increase if you drive on trip2 mode, while trip 1 also get automatically updated.


is the number on the right hand side of the km display showing the gear shift? mine doesnt show. i hav 1.2 l CL petrol

User avatar
darklord
Moderator
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: Help needed with multi function display

Unread postby darklord » Sun Sep 02, 2012 11:03 pm

subod012 wrote:is the number on the right hand side of the km display showing the gear shift? mine doesnt show. i hav 1.2 l CL petrol
Yes i too think so. Its not there in Petrol cars, specially in TL/CL.

User avatar
VR1
Moderator
Posts: 2590
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 3:33 pm
City: Pinkcity
State: Rajasthan
Car-1: Polo 1.2L TDI TL

Re: Help needed with multi function display

Unread postby VR1 » Sun Sep 02, 2012 11:13 pm

darklord wrote:Its not there in Petrol cars, specially in TL/CL.

Yeah, the gear shift indicator is not in petrol Polo but it is there in TDI Polo and that too in all variants. Gear shift indicator is actually part of their Bluemotion technology and some of the Bluemotion features are there in Indian TDI too. That Bluemotion wasn't there in the VW's 1.2 MPI so I guess its not in petrol Polos. Later VW introduced some Bluemotion petrol engines too (1.2 MPI is not in that list).

User avatar
praveen
Senior Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 11:27 pm
City: Ghaziabad
State: U.P
Car-1: Polo 1.2L P HL

Re: Help needed with multi function display

Unread postby praveen » Sun Sep 02, 2012 11:47 pm

Polo petrol highline shows instantaneous FE in place of gear shift indicator in diesel.

satya007
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 6:41 pm
City: Bhubaneswar
State: Orissa
Car-1: Polo 1.2L TDI HL
Car-2: Polo 1.2L TDI HL

Re: Help needed with multi function display

Unread postby satya007 » Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:36 pm

subod012 wrote:is the number on the right hand side of the km display showing the gear shift? mine doesnt show. i hav 1.2 l CL petrol

No, it's not the gear shift indicator, it indicates that trip 2 info is being displayed.

Gear shift indicator comes right to clock i.e. in first row.

satya007
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 6:41 pm
City: Bhubaneswar
State: Orissa
Car-1: Polo 1.2L TDI HL
Car-2: Polo 1.2L TDI HL

Re: Help needed with multi function display

Unread postby satya007 » Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:56 am

Gear shift indicator is shown at top-right position
GSI in action.JPG
Gear shift indicator in action.


Return to “Minor Issues/Queries/Solutions/DIYs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest